The Menin Gate war memorial at Ypres was built and opened in 1927.
In 2015, students from Broadford Secondary College were given the honour of laying a wreath at the Menin Gate. This did not proceed because of the trip cancellation due to a terrorist attack in Paris.
In 2018, the students will return to the Menin Gate with the original wreath [cared for at school for three years] and complete the commitment made by the class of 2015.
This wreath consists of numerous hand-made fabric poppies which have been part of Broadford Secondary College’s contribution to the 5000 Poppie project.
The Menin Gate commemorates the British soldiers whose bodies were never found. On its huge panels are carved 54,896 names of men with no known grave who died in this area between 1914 and August 1917. The designer thought there would be plenty of room for all the names, but there was not: a further 34,984 names of missing soldiers (from August 1917 to the end of the war) are carved on panels at Tyne Cot cemetery not far away.
At the opening ceremony in 1927, these words were spoken:
‘It was resolved that here at Ypres, where so many of the missing are known to have fallen, there should be erected a memorial worthy of them which should give expression to the nation’s gratitude for their sacrifice and their sympathy with those who mourned them. A memorial has been erected which, in its simple grandeur, fulfils this object, and now it can be said of each one in whose honour we are assembled here today: “He is not missing; he is here!”
The Menin Gate is an integral part of Ypres and the Menin Road, along which people and traffic pass daily, runs through it.
Every night of the year, at 8.00, the road is closed while ‘The Last Post’, the traditional bugle call marking the end of the day for soldiers in action, is played.